Holy Week

I’ve been saying all week that there’s more to Holy Week than just Easter. There’s Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Super Terrible Sunday as well. Palm Sunday is already done and over, so go read that blog if you want to know more on Palm Sunday.

Maundy Thursday was the night of the last supper. While Jesus sat at the table with the 12 disciples, He knew Peter would deny him, Thomas would doubt him, and Judas would betray him with a kiss. Think about it… If you’re there eating dinner with your best friends, and you know they are going to deeply hurt you. I can’t think of a worse feeling than being betrayed by loved ones. 

Good Friday isn’t good at all. People can be so deceiving with names.. tsk tsk. Anyways, Good Friday is probably one of the most important days for every Christian, for today is the day Jesus Christ is crucified for out sins. I read that Jesus was hanging on the old, ragged cross from 9AM to 3PM…

Earlier tonight I played guitar for my church’s Good Friday service. During the service, a slide show of the crucifixion of Jesus was on a loop on the projector. Seeing picture after picture of my savior hanging on a cross, bleeding, in pain… It was one of the most heartbreaking experiences I’ve had. God loves me so much that He sacrificed his only son so that I can live with them both in the kingdom one day (John 3:16). To know that Jesus died for me makes me forever grateful and humble to serve Him. It’s the least I could do.

As Super Terrible Saturday begins, I feel for the disciples. They betrayed their Savior and they have feelings of doubt and shame and guilt and hatred for themselves. I wish I could go back in time and give them the courage to tough it out and stay strong for a few short hours; until Sunday morning.

God is good, you guys. Remember that.

Peace. 

Leave a Reply

